## If you want to file a...

# SMALL CLAIMS Complaint & Summons (\$3,500 or Under)

Forms......Small Claims Overview for Plaintiff

Plaintiff/Defendant Checklist

How to Designate and Serve a Party

Complaint

Summons

Notice of Authorization to Appear

Proof of Service by Registered or Certified Mail

**Defendant's Answer** 

Notice to Plaintiff and Defendant



- 1. <u>Small Claims</u>: The small claims process is an inexpensive, quick, and informal way to resolve civil disputes up to \$3,500, plus court costs. You must sue for a monetary amount. You cannot sue the defendant related to an item, for example a boat or a dog. Be aware that there is no right to appeal a small claims judgment. If you want to reserve your right to appeal you must file your case in the civil division.
- 2. <u>Legal Advice</u>: Court staff is not allowed to provide legal advice. You must follow the Arizona Revised Statutes and Rules of Procedure for Small Claims Cases that apply in your lawsuit. The statutes and rules are available in many public libraries and at the courthouse. The statutes are also online at the <u>Arizona State Legislature</u>, and the rules are online at the <u>Arizona Judicial Branch Court Rules</u>. For legal advice, you may contact <u>Southern Arizona Legal Aid</u>, Inc. or Pima County Bar Association.
- 3. <u>Parties:</u> Persons in a lawsuit are called "parties." There is a "plaintiff" and a "defendant. A "plaintiff" is someone who files a lawsuit against a "defendant".
- 4. <u>Complaint and Service</u>: When filing your law suit you must properly name the party(s). See examples on page 3. The complaint must briefly state the factual basis for the claim. You must serve the complaint, summons and a copy of the "Notice to Defendant(s) within 45 calendar days or your case may be dismissed. You may serve the defendant by certified mail, a constable or private process server. Proof of service must be filed with the court.
- 5. <u>Filing Fee</u>: The cost of filing a small claims complaint is \$55.00. You will be required to pay the filing fee prior to submitting your case to the court. If you cannot afford the filing fee you may apply for a Fee Waiver or Deferral at the court. You will not be able to file your case online if you are unable to pay the fee.
- 6. <u>Representation:</u> Individuals represent themselves in a small claims lawsuit. There are usually no attorneys unless both parties stipulate. One spouse may represent both spouses. A full-time corporate officer or authorized employee may represent a partnership; an active member or an authorized full-time employee may represent an association; and any other organization may be represented by one of its active members or authorized full-time employees.
- 7. <u>Transfer to Civil Division</u>: Either party may request a transfer of the lawsuit from the Small Claims Division to the regular Civil Division of the Justice Court up to 10 days prior to the hearing. A transfer will allow:
  - (1) Either party to have an attorney;
  - (2) The defendant to file a counterclaim for more than \$3,500;
  - (3) Either party to file motions that are not permitted in small claims lawsuits;
  - (4) Parties to have a jury trial; and
  - (5) A party to have the right to appeal.
- 8. <u>Motions</u>: There are only two motions allowed in Small Claims: Motion for Change of Venue and Motion to Vacate Judgment. A response to the motion, if filed, must be submitted within ten (10) days after the motion is served.
- 9. Answer: The defendant must file a written answer within twenty (20) calendar days from the date they are served with the summons and complaint, and mail a copy to you. If the defendant fails to answer the complaint timely you must initiate default proceedings in accordance with Rule 21(b), Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure.

CVSC1 Rev. 10/16/2024 Page 1

## SMALL CLAIMS OVERVIEW FOR PLAINTIFF (continued)

- F€ Counterclaim: The defendant may file a counterclaim asserting that you owe something. The counterclaim must be filed within 20 days of service of the summons, complaint and notice. The amount of the counterclaim cannot exceed \$3,500.
- FFÈ Counterclaim Reply: The plaintiff has 20 calendar days from receipt to file a reply to the counterclaim with the court and mail a copy to the defendant.
- FŒ Hearing: The court will set a 30-minute hearing within 60 days from the date the answer is filed. A hearing officer who has received specialized training will conduct the hearing. Both parties must appear at all scheduled hearings and provide supporting evidence for their claims and defenses. If you fail to appear at a hearing, the court may enter a judgment against you.
- FHÈ Continuance: Either party may request a continuance for good cause. If you no longer reside in the area or attending court would result in a financial hardship you may request a telephonic hearing. However, you may be at a disadvantage since all evidence must be submitted to the court before the hearing.
- FI È <u>Dismissal</u>: If the matter settles prior to the hearing date, file a notice of dismissal with the court. If it settles after the defendant has filed an answer, both parties must sign and submit a Stipulated Dismissal form with the court.
- FÍ È <u>Default Judgment</u>: If you fail to file an answer within the specified time a default judgment may be filed. You must still provide evidence to support your claim
- FÎ È Hearing: The court will set a 30-minute hearing within 60 days from the date the answer is filed. A hearing officer who has received specialized training will conduct the hearing. Both parties must appear at all scheduled hearings and provide supporting evidence for their claims and defenses. If you fail to appear at a hearing, the court may enter a judgment against you.
- FÏ È Continuance: Either party may request a continuance for good cause. If you no longer reside in the area or attending court would result in a financial hardship you may request a telephonic hearing. However, you may be at a disadvantage since all evidence must be submitted to the court before the hearing.
- Fì È <u>Dismissal:</u> If the matter settles prior to the hearing date, file a notice of dismissal with the court. If it settles after the defendant has filed an answer, both parties must sign and submit a Stipulated Dismissal form with the court.
- FJÈChange of Address: You must keep the court informed of your current address and telephone number until the lawsuit is over.



## The following checklist may assist you in processing your case.

PLAINTIFF CHECKLIST	DEFENDANT CHECKLIST
☐ Date COMPLAINT filed and filing fee paid	If you object to the venue (the precinct in which the
☐ Date SUMMONS and COMPLAINT given to process server for service on defendant(s)	complaint was filed) you must file a Motion for Change of Venue for Improper Venus before the answer is filed.
□Date COMPLAINT served	Date answer filed and filing fee paid (Within twenty (20) calendar days of the date you were served / thirty (30) days if served out-of-state)
☐ Date time to ANSWER expires (twenty (20) days after defendant served / thirty (30) days if served out-of-state)	If you fail to file an answer, the plaintiff may obtain a default judgment against you.
IF ANSWER IS RECEIVED:	☐ Date COUNTERCLAIM filed and copy mailed to plaintiff
☐ Date defendant files an ANSWER	If you intend to file a counterclaim you must do so at the
IF NO ANSWER IS RECEIVED:	same time the Answer is filed. You must use the proper form and mail a copy to the plaintiff.
☐ APPLICATION FOR ENTRY OF DEFAULT filed with court and copy mailed to defendant	☐ Date time to REPLY expires
NOTICE to PARTY filing for Default: Anytime after ten (10) judicial days have passed since the	☐ Date plaintiff files a REPLY
Anytime after ten (10) judicial days have passed since the filing of this Application, it is your responsibility to file a	IF NO REPLY TO COUNTERCLAIM IS RECEIVED:
Request for Entry of Default Judgment or request a hearing. Statement of Cost and proof of the claim (receipts, contract, etc.) must also be served upon all the parties in this lawsuit.	☐ APPLICATION FOR ENTRY OF DEFAULT filed with court and copy mailed to plaintiff
☐ Date time to REPLY TO COUNTERCLAIM expires	NOTICE to PARTY filing for Default:
If the defendant files a counterclaim YOU must file a reply to the counterclaim within twenty (20) calendar days. If you fail to file a reply, the defendant may obtain a default judgment against you.	Anytime after ten (10) business days have passed since the filing of this Application, it is your responsibility to file a Request for Entry of Default Judgment or request a hearing. Statement of Cost and proof of the claim (receipts, contract, etc.) must also be served upon all the parties in this lawsuit.

CVSC1 Rev. 10/16/2024 Page 3



#### HOW TO DESIGNATE AND SERVE A PARTY

AN INDIVIDUAL
JOHN JONES
1234 S. Main Street
Tucson, AZ 85040

SERVE: The party must be served with a copy of the summons and complaint.

#### **TWO OR MORE DEFENDANTS**

JOHN SMITH 1234 S. Main Street Tucson, AZ 85040 MARY JONES 1000 E. First Street Tucson, AZ 85040

## HUSBAND AND WIFE JOHN AND MARYJONES, HUSBAND AND WIFE 1234 S. Main Street Tucson, AZ 85040

SERVE: Each spouse must be served a copy of the summons and complaint. One spouse may be served with the other spouse's copies if they reside at the same residence.

SERVE: Each named defendant must be served a copy of the summons and complaint.

#### WHEN THE NAME OF THE DEFENDANT IS UNKNOWN:

CIVIL - (Claims up to \$10,000)

JANE DOE, JOHN DOE, XYZ Corporation

Upon service, when the defendant's true name is discovered, the pleadings may be amended to reflect the true name.

### **SOLE OWNERSHIP**

John Jones, Dba Jones' Delicious Candy Shoppe 1234 S. Main Street Tucson, AZ 85040

SERVE: The Owner

### SMALL CLAIMS - (Claims less than \$3,500)

Per Rules of Small Claims Procedure: A plaintiff must use the party's correct legal name when filing a lawsuit. Each defendant must be sued by the correct legal name.

#### **PARTNERSHIP**

JOHN SMITH and JOE JONES, Partners Dba JJ's Cafe 1000 E. First Street Tucson, AZ 85040

#### SERVE either:

- 1. A Partner
- 2. A Managing or general agent
- 3. An Agent authorized by appointment

## CORPORATION LLC COMPANY UNINCORPORATED ASSOCIATION

ABC Candy Store, Inc. 1234 S. Main Street Tucson, AZ 85040

SERVE: Statutory Agent, as follows:

John Jones, Statutory Agent 5678 N. Eezee St. Tucson, AZ 85040

If serving a statutory agent, you must mail a copy to the party on whose behalf the agent received service.

Service may also be effected upon:

- 1. An Officer of the corporation President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer
- 2. A Managing or general agent
- 3. An Agent authorized by appointment or law

**CORPORATION COMMISSION**: To determine Statutory Agent for a business or corporation contact: State of Arizona Corporation Commission 400 W. Congress, Tucson, AZ 85701 Phone: (602) 542-3026

Website: www.azcc.gov

#### PARENTS OF A MINOR

If the minor is under 16 years of age, SERVE: The Minor and the parent or guardian John and Mary Jones, husband and wife Parents of Johnny Jones, a minor

> 1234 S. Main Street Tucson, AZ 85040

If the minor is 16 years of age or more,

SERVE: The Minor

#### SERVING THE DIRECTOR OF INSURANCE

SERVE: The Statutory Agent

If the statutory agent is the DIRECTOR OF INSURANCE

SERVE: The DIRECTOR OF INSURANCE 400 W. Congress #152 Tucson, AZ 85701

SERVING THE REGISTRAR OF CONTRACTORS

SERVE: Registrar's Legal Officer and the Bonding company must be named as a defendant and served.

CVRC1 Packet Rev. 10/16/2024 Page 5



## PIMA COUNTY Pima County Justice Courts, Arizona

240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3171

	CASE NUMBER:	
Plaintiff(s) Name / Addres	ss / Email / Phone	Defendant(s) Name / Address / Email / Phone
	SMALL	CLAIMS COMPLAINT
HERE ARE NO	APPEALS IN SMALL CLAIMS CASE	5.
aims court. If yoursuant to § 22-	ou wish to preserve your right to appea	ision of the hearing officer or the justice of the peace in a small , you may have your case transferred to the justice court itutes, if you request such transfer at least ten (10) days prior to
	PLAIN	TIFF'S CLAIM
\$ i	is the total amount owed me by defend	ant because:
<del></del>		
	Plaintiff (Print name)	
ate:	DI : ('W /D : 1	Plaintiff (Signature)

CVSC2 Rev. 1/1/2020



## PIMA COUNTY Pima County Justice Courts, Arizona

240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3171

CASE I	NUMBER:		
Plaintiff(s) Name / Address / Email / Phone		Defendant's Name / Address /	Email / Phone
	SMALL CLAIMS SU	IMMONS	☐ Replacement
The Statutory Agent / Corporate Officer to	be served is:		
	Name / Address / Email / P	-	
TO THE ABOVE-NAMED DE claims court. You are summor answer to the complaint within t do not file an answer, judgmen claim, plus the plaintiff's court comay request a waiver or deferral	ned to appear and de twenty (20) days after so nt may be entered aga ests. You must pay a fe	fend. You must ervice and delive ainst you for the	file with this court a writter racopy to the plaintiff. If you full amount of the plaintiff's
NOTICE: A separate Summons m	nust be issued and served	d to each defenda	nt named in the complaint.
Date:Clerk		Seal	



## PIMA COUNTY Justice Courts, Arizona

240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3171

CASE NUMBER:	
	Defendant Name
	Defendant Name
	Deletion Reine
	Defendant Name
Plaintiff(s) Name / Address / Email / Phone	Defendant Name
The Statutory Agent / Corporate Officer to be served is:	
NOTICE OF AUTHORIZ	ZATION TO APPEAR
If you are representing a partnership, an association or any other of indicating your position and authority to represent an action on behaletter must be signed by someone who has authority to appoint, sure The lawsuit will not go forward without the written authorization. (A	half of the partnership, association or organization. This uch as the president of your organization.
1. List the name, address and position of the person appearin	ng:
Name:	_
Address:	_
City, State, Zip Code:	_
Job Title or relationship to the defendant or plaintiff you want to	appear for:
2. Who are you appearing for?	
$\square$ A defendant in this case (name):	
$\square$ A plaintiff in this case (name):	
3. Tell us about the defendant or plaintiff you are appearing for	or:
I am appearing for a (check one)  Corporation and I am an employee, officer, or director of that c	corporation.
□ <b>Partnership</b> and I am an employee, officer, director or partner of	•
☐ <b>Other business</b> (not a corporation, partnership or sole propriete business.	orship) and I am an employee, officer, or director of that
Government agency or other public entity and I am an emplo	•
☐ <b>Sole proprietorship</b> and I am an employee of that business. I regular court of business at or near the time of the event.	am qualified to testify about business record made in the
☐ <b>Association</b> created to manage a common interest developme	ent and I am an agent, management company representative
or bookkeeper for that association.	
<ul><li>☐ Husband or wife and my spouse and I are both listed on this cla</li><li>☐ Other (explain):</li></ul>	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
4. I declare under penalty of perjury that the information above	
Date:	
Signature:	_

CVSC19 Rev. 1/1/2020



## **Pima County Justice Courts, Arizona**

240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3171

CASE NUMBER:	
Plaintiff(s) Name / Address / Email / Phone	Defendant(s) Name / Address / Email / Phone
SMALL CLAIMS PROOF OF	SERVICE BY REGISTERED OR CERTIFIED MAIL
A copy of the summons, complaint, and Notice to the Pl by registered or certified mail to the above-named defer	
The return receipt is attached (green card or return	receipt printed from the postal or delivery service website).
The date of service is:	
☐ The date of delivery, as shown on the attached ret	urn receipt.
☐ The date the return receipt is filed with the court be date is illegible.	ecause the date of delivery was not entered or the

# ATTACH GREEN CARD HERE

FOR COURT USE ONLY

Received On:	Clerk:



## PIMA COUNTY Pima County Justice Courts, Arizona

240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3171

	CASE NUMBI	:R:
		<u> </u>
		<u> </u>
		<u> </u>
Plaintiff(s) Name /	Address / Email / Phone	Defendant's Name / Address / Email / Phone
		SMALL CLAIMS ANSWER
ERE ARE N	NO APPEALS IN SMALL CLAIN	S CASES.
ims court. I	f you wish to preserve your right section A, Arizona Revised Statu	al the decision of the hearing officer or the justice of the peace in a small to appeal, you may have your case transferred to the justice court pursuant to es, if you request such transfer at least ten (10) days prior to the day of the
aintiff. If you aintiff's court	do not file an answer, judgment t costs. You must pay a fee to the	<b>DEFENDANT'S ANSWER</b> I the complaint within twenty (20) days after service and deliver a copy to the may be entered against you for the full amount of the plaintiff's claim, plus the court to file an answer, although you may request a waiver or deferral. The earing within sixty (60) days after you file your answer.
m answerin	g on behalf of $\square$ Myself $\square$ Mari	al Community Other:
o not owe p	laintiff because:	
ate:	Defendant (Print N	Defendant (Signature)
-	Defendant (Print Nature of the	Defendant (Signature) partnership, association, or other organization, you must attach a letter of
OTICE: If you	u are representing a corporation	partnership, association, or other organization, you must attach a letter of
OTICE: If you	u are representing a corporation	
OTICE: If youthorization.	u are representing a corporation  Yes, I need interpreter service	partnership, association, or other organization, you must attach a letter of  s. Language:  poided by (circle one) hand-delivery/ first-class mail/ electronic means on
terpreter:	u are representing a corporation  Yes, I need interpreter service	partnership, association, or other organization, you must attach a letter of s. Language:

## READ THIS NOTICE CAREFULLY

#### Notice to Plaintiff and Defendant: A small claims lawsuit has been filed in justice court.

- A small claims lawsuit is an informal way to resolve civil disputes that are \$3,500 or less.
- Parties in a lawsuit are called "plaintiff" and "defendant." Plaintiffs start a lawsuit by filing a complaint against defendants.
- PLAINTIFF: A lawsuit against the defendant cannot proceed without proper service as described in the Arizona Rules of Small Claims Procedure. When you file your complaint, the court will provide you with a summons and a copy of this notice that you must serve on each defendant along with the complaint. You must file proof of service within 45 calendar days or your case may be dismissed. If proof of service is not timely filed or your case is not concluded within 65 days of the date the defendant was served, the court may dismiss your case unless it finds a good reason not to.
- DEFENDANT: You must file a written answer and mail a copy to the plaintiff. Otherwise, judgment may be entered against you. If you have a claim against the plaintiff, even if it is based on a different event than described in the complaint, you may file a counterclaim and must mail a copy to the plaintiff.
- BOTH PARTIES: You must provide supporting evidence for your claims and defenses and must appear at all scheduled hearings or alternative dispute resolution conferences.
- A justice of the peace or a hearing officer with specialized training will conduct the hearing. You should be prepared to clearly present your evidence. Although you may be permitted to appear telephonically if needed, you must submit all evidence to the court before the hearing. If you fail to appear at a hearing, the court may enter a judgment against you. To ensure that you receive these notices, you must keep the court informed, in writing, of your current address and telephone number until the lawsuit is over.
- You must follow the Arizona Revised Statutes and Arizona Rules of Small Claims Procedure that apply in your lawsuit. The statutes and rules are available in many public libraries and at the courthouse. The statutes are also online at the <a href="Arizona State Legislature">Arizona State Legislature</a> webpage, and the rules are online at the <a href="Arizona Judicial Branch Court Rules">Arizona Judicial Branch Court Rules</a> webpage.
- You must properly complete court papers and file them when they are due. Blank forms are on the <u>Arizona Judicial Branch</u> website and available from any justice court.
- Some filings require a filing fee. Parties can request a fee waiver or deferral from the court but must still file documents on time.
- Court staff cannot give legal advice but can provide information about jurisdiction, venue, pleadings, and procedures for the small claims division of the justice court.
- There are no attorneys in a small claims lawsuit unless the parties agree in writing. Individuals usually represent themselves. One spouse may represent both spouses. A full-time corporate officer or authorized employee may represent a corporation; an active general partner or an authorized full-time employee may represent a partnership; an active member or an authorized full-time employee may represent an association; and any other organization may be represented by one of its active members or authorized full-time employees.
- <u>Parties cannot appeal a small claims judgment.</u> Parties may request to transfer the lawsuit from small claims to the regular civil division of the justice court. A transfer will allow:
  - Attorney representation without written agreement;
  - Counterclaims for more than \$3,500;
  - Motions that are not permitted in small claims lawsuits;
  - A jury trial; and
  - An appeal.